To New Starts

Well, it’s October. The dust is finally settling. Aspie is in Kindergarten. Wheezie is in preshool. It was surreal.

It was the beginning of a new era for me – giving up a whole lotta control to the public school for A, and trusting that my little bubble boy W would thrive in this preschool. I was so worried and guilty that I had not looked at other preschools for W – that he was just going there because A did. But it is absolutely perfect for him. He loves it. They love him. He is showered with love and nurtured to his fullest potential. He is not treated differently despite his physical disability. He mostly keeps up with the others physically, but TOWERS over them cognitively. I have another smarty-pants on my hands. I know every mama says that, but what the hell, I’m saying it too!

Aspie is doing phenomenal. Better than anyone could have ever anticipated. My family and I have so much pride in him, it just gushes out of us. He’s turned into such a good, good person. He had a few hiccups in the beginning of school, but those seemed to have all worked themselves out. He acquired a nasty case of Giardia sometime over the summer, so we were battling that the first month of school. He was medicated twice for it and it seems to have resolved. We retest again in a few weeks. Nothing like a kid with a wonky gut getting a parasite….. it was epic, let me just tell ya…..

Wheezie’s asthma has been very controlled. It’s definitely been active since we’ve had so much rain and it is just WET here constantly. However, he did get two colds already this season that have come and gone and they were NORMAL. Like, normal people colds! I’ve never seen him get one of those before! He was also casted for orthotic braces last week. That was a whole slew of emotions that I had to get through, but now I’m realizing that it’s what we have to do if we want to avoid hip problems down the line. He’s such a mensch. Such a good boy. He amazes everyone every day with his joy and beauty. Now we’re also waiting on the Intermediate Unit to let us know whether or not he is going to continue to get services…… I just can’t understand how a child with hemiplegia can be denied services….. but we shall see….

I went back to work two mornings a week while Wheeze is in preschool. I have a lot of mixed emotions about that too. It’s the same job I’ve been doing for the past five years, I just decided I get more done in the office. It’s perfect because my office is five minutes away and they are still extremely flexible with me. I’m just wanting something….. more important. We’ll see how it pans out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

