Back from the trenches

The trenches of having an Aspie home. Full time. For a month.

This posed numerous problems. First problem was that he decided he no longer wanted to wear clothes. We finally found underwear that he felt was suitable though, thank God. So he basically spent the month in his underwear.

Any time we tried to go out, he’s protest. He didn’t want to wear clothes.

His eating became erratic. We ended up, after much deliberation, putting him on a medical supplement to try to avoid “assisted feeding.”

He had almost no services the whole time.

Everything scared him. The sun scared him. The pool scared him. The heat scared him. New people scared him. He became a complete shut-in. If we HAD to go somewhere, it was with him kicking and screaming.

My boys were at each others throats. They were NOT used to seeing so much of each other. And they are usually best friends.

I tried to take them down the shore to get help from my family, but all I got was a non-sleeping one year old and a five year old who became completely out of control. He was not in his own mind, he was somewhere far, far away. He was abusing everyone, physically and verbally. I had to get him home. Fast.

My brother had to help me get him out to the car. The nice thing about this, is my brother had never seen that side of him before. Nor had my sister and brother in law. The whole year of whispers I’m sure went on behind my back were now being retracted. They saw it now. They saw what i live with.

Jonah is now back in school. His last Progress Report from his behavior team was his best one yet. We’ve had a few regressions, but he always comes back to us. His teacher is amazing, in all ways. He is happy and content. He has FRIENDS. He has CONFIDENCE. He is feeling like things are falling into place. He starts Taekwondo next week. That should be interesting…..

So our world is good. Wheezie is having his moments, but is overall very healthy and chunking up like a champ. He does NOT.STOP.EATING….. quite a change from what I’m used to. He’s the sweetest daddy you could ever want – wrapping up his elmo in his blankey, feeding him boobie and burping him before he puts him in his “cribby.” We have frequent tea parties and he vacuums my house with a sweeper vac. He is such a sensitive, kind soul.

He is also throwing and catching balls like a three year old. He’s looking like he’ll be a lefty. My dad is over the moon! I am over the moon.

I keep hearing snippets of moms talking about preschool for next year and I almost can’t deal. I’m ready to take some time for myself and my mental and physical health, but I am not ready to let him go. I better be by this summer though!

That is all. I’ll be back. Sooner rather than later 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Asthma and Allergies, Family, Special Needs

Leave a Reply

