The best…..swimmer?

Jonah is the best swimmer in his camp bunk. I can’t remember the last time Jonah was the best at anything – other than making people laugh. From the day I met his new “friends” and new counselors, I knew that holding him back from Kindergarten was the best decision I ever made. I mulled and groaned and whined and didn’t know what to do…. until I just looked at him and said, “He’s not ready.” He wasn’t ready. He doesn’t have any pre-kindergarten skills because he spent his entire Pre-K year working on social and behavioral skills. Now that he’s caught up on those, I’m sure his other skills will take off!

To see him play with these children – some of them a whole year younger than him – was like seeing him in his element. He is so kind. He’s not the smallest anymore. He’s bold and he’s brave and doesn’t take any crap from anyone. There is a little boy obsessed with HIM now.

I know it was the right decision. I think that this will be a year of great strides. In the mean time, he’s swimming his little heart out any chance he gets! My heart sings when I think of how very proud I am of him!

Leave a comment

Filed under Special Needs

Leave a Reply

