Regulation

According to Jonah’s professional evaluation, he needs to be in constant motion to regulate his vestibular system. Yeah, I had to look it up, too. It’s his balance. It’s his primary sensory issue, along with auditory.

My husband brought home Mario Kart for Wii tonight. Jonah was so excited he can’t stop. Literally, can’t stop. Geoff was calling it ADHD crack. It’s now 8:45, an hour past when we started to get ready for bed. I just came downstairs from rocking Jonah in his rocking chair. It’s something we’ve shared since he was a baby. Even when I was distant for a few years, I still rocked him to sleep. Sometimes it’s the only way.

He’s sitting on the stairs right now watching me type this. He thinks I don’t know he’s there. I’d love for him to just go lay down and try to go to sleep, but he truly can’t. No amount of yelling or disciplining will change that. His vestibular system needs to regulate before he can stop. So he stands on his head. A lot. He has a trampoline in his playroom. He runs laps around the cul-de-sac. We let him do what he needs to do. Right now he doesn’t need discipline, he needs understanding.

I’d sit up there and rock him all night if I could. I really would. I hope he knows that. I just wish I could help him sometimes when I truly can’t. I hope he falls asleep before 10 tonight, that’s when he fell asleep last night 😦

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

