Life on the ranch

So many crazy things going on right now, I thought I’d write about some of the rather humdrum things we have going on as well.

Eli has grown into a moody little thing. Yes, he’s still a perfect angel, but around me, he’s spoiled rotten. I’m working on it. He’s never this way for Geoff. I think I worried so much about not giving him enough attention that I overdid it.

He has an obsession with sweepers and brooms, which often gets him into trouble.

A wise mama once told me, “Take a picture first.” She wasn’t kidding! I almost killed him, I had just cleaned up a huge thing of spilled milk. That’s spilled coffee creamer, knocked over by the Swiffer. I screeched. He wasn’t happy.

When he’s cranky, I can always just open the door and let him outside. We’ll sit on the stoop, play in the neighbor’s garage or look at our flowers.

Speaking of our plants, we had our first cut flower harvest today! The Peonies and some Roses were ready to cut. I’m having a hell of a time with my roses this year. Last year they had a nasty case of black spot and now they have powdery mildew. I keep trying to fight it off with Castile soap solution, but I’m not having much luck.

I’ve also been getting a lot of help lately from Annabel Karmel. Her book “First Foods” was one I’ve gone to time and time again since Jonah was a baby. My kids eat NOTHING. Nothing, and chicken nuggets. So I’ve been trying some recipes from her book and they’ve been a hit! There’s even a section for picky eaters!

One I tried tonight was Diana’s Chicken Corn Fritters. I’d link the recipe if I could find it! I completely burnt the fritters trying to fry them, so I baked the rest instead. They were awesome and the kids really liked them! Oh, and the secret to my success lately – divided plates. I’ve even got Jonah up three pounds!

So that’s us in a nutshell. In our cozy, crazy nutshell!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Greenery

Leave a Reply

