Transition

There’s something about tonight that told me to take my Attivan before I even tried to get Jonah to sleep. He goes back to school tomorrow. After a week and a half off.

I don’t know about typical kids, but we loathe these transitions. Even transitioning to a good thing – like Spring Break – is difficult. I just make sure I give myself extra time, have extra rewards for positive behavior, and extra medication.

For some reason, he’s stopped fighting bedtime over the break. Right now he is in his room singing to himself, but it’s a half hour earlier than he’d been going to bed the last two and a half weeks. I’m interested to see how this goes.

Eli, on the other hand, can transition at the drop of a hat. Have to take something away? Just say, “Bye bye screwdriver,” or whatever it is he’s gotten himself into, he waves bye bye, and blows a kiss. Time for bed? “Eli, want your nonny?” “Nigh nigh, nonny!” and off to sleep he goes.

A few friends were talking recently about how long their bedtime routine is. Most said anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes. Eli’s is 15 minutes. Jonah’s is an hour and a half, and that doesn’t include the protesting that happens after he’s in bed. This just epitomizes the story of my life. I have, however, recently drummed up a crap load more patience. I figured I’d have a stroke by 30 at the rate I was going. And honestly, nobody else can care for that child but me.

Today he had a full blown panic attack. Something he saw on the computer sparked something in him so deeply, he was shaking, screaming, had both hands in his mouth. We just had to sit and rock and breathe until it was all over. He was very irritable today, and I’m sure it’s the transition of tomorrow – going back to school. I’d be lying if I said I was ready for him to go back. Home is so safe to him. He’s been a different child, in a good way. We just need to move forward, and make school feel like that to him as well.

We’ll get there. Until then, we’ll just keep on keepin’ on…..

1 Comment

Filed under Family

One response to “Transition

  1. nancy goldstein

    Hi Ali!
    Are you sure you didn’t major in journalism????!!!!!
    Keep up the great attitute! Enjoy each child for their differences and know how blessed you are!!
    N

Leave a Reply

