BAKING SEASON!!!!!!

And so it begins!

I decided that I needed to learn how to make bread. You know, because I have so much free time(can you smell the sarcasm???)

Here’s my first try at whole wheat, pretty ambitious for a first bread.

Looks easy enough....

Looks easy enough....

I *think* it's rising.....

I *think* it's rising.....

And I won’t even show you the results….. Just think whole wheat colored, squat brick. And Geoff was so sweet to tell me he liked it…. yuck!

Day 2. SUCCESS!

Look, it LOOKS like bread!

Look, it LOOKS like bread!

And it tasted like bread, yay!

And it tasted like bread, yay!

Even Eli ate some with the egg brushed top torn off. I’m so proud of me! I followed a recipe for rye bread but used whole wheat flour instead of rye flour. It made an amazing combo of texture and taste! I don’t think we’ll be buying store bought bread any time soon!

And for Shabbat, I decided to go get our challah at Genuardi’s…. I don’t know if I’ll ever be doing that again though….

Rubber Bread

Rubber Bread

So I decided to do something fun with it, very close to the four year anniversary of my grandmother’s passing. I made her signature breakfast….

Egg, sugar, cinnamon, milk

Egg, sugar, cinnamon, milk

Jonah's plate

Jonah's plate

And it got his seal of approval!

"I can eat this every day, mom?"

"I can eat this every day, mom?"

This post dedicated in loving memory to Sylvia Sobel Master.

1 Comment

Filed under Family

One response to “BAKING SEASON!!!!!!

  1. michelle

    mmmm… your bread and french toast looks delicious! can I have a piece? I just stared making bread the other night too… made an eggless half whole wheat challah. I didn’t kneed it enough and so it didn’t rise enough, but it was pretty good and Althea likes it so it was a success. I think it has room for improvement and I am excited to bake it again. by the way, and off topic… I was never able to find a pic of Jonah wearing his baby… belated thanks for the comment, love to you~m

Leave a Reply

